Joe-Pinions: Sports

12 Sept 2010 – txtmstrjoe’s Pick ’em, Wk 1 Results

Posted in Football (NFL) by txtmstrjoe on 12/09/2010

Per my most recent post, I’ll be playing a week-by-week NFL pick ’em game involving three random games and the San Francisco 49ers game on each week’s schedule.

Here’s how I did in Week 1, 2010:

Atlanta Falcons @ Pittsburgh Steelers:  Got this one WRONG.  I underestimated the effect that a healthy Troy Polamalu could have in a given game.  He and his mates on the stout Steelers defense kept the Falcons’ offense from the endzone and limited Atlanta’s scoring to three field goals.  Then, in overtime, Rashard Mendenhall made me eat crow by scoring the winning touchdown on a 50yd carry.

Indianapolis Colts @ Houston Texans:  I got this game RIGHT.  The Texans exposed one of the Colts’ few weaknesses, namely, the lack of a dependable running game.  Houston simply proved they were the much more physical team in this contest, with halfback Arian Foster pounding out 231yds rushing and 3TDs.

Cleveland Browns @ Tampa Bay Buccaneers:  Got this game WRONG.  As in my Fantasy F1 league (more on that later), I should have listened to my gut and gone with my instinctive choices instead of trying unconventional tactics.  The home team made more of the critical plays, including two touchdown passes by quarterback Josh Freeman.  In contrast, Jake Delhomme played like Jake Delhomme today and threw two interceptions during the second half.  (You can ask my brother-in-law about the Browns and how he and I differ in our appraisals of this team.  He thought, or hoped, Jake Delhomme would return to his halcyon days as the Carolina Panthers’ QB from a few years back.  I don’t see it myself…)

San Francisco 49ers @ Seattle Seahawks:  Sadly, I got this game RIGHT.  If there was one game I wanted to get wrong this weekend, it was this one.  I didn’t see this game, and at this point I haven’t yet read about it, but the score says it all (31-6).  The Seahawks took full advantage of being at home; I have a feeling that they also had the element of surprise in their favor since they have a new coaching staff.  Sometimes in football all you need is to throw something unexpected at your opponent, to create confusion and indecision.  Hesitation kills in pro football.

So, after one week, I’m sitting at 2-2.  Batting .500 is awesome in baseball, but it’s distinctly average in pro football.

Oh, by the way, regarding my Fantasy F1 results for this weekend, I got killed when Lewis Hamilton broke his McLaren’s right front suspension by hitting Felipe Massa’s left rear.  I also had a feeling that Jenson Button would have been a good pickup for this week, but decided to take Adrian Sutil (who dropped to last place with an out-of-sequence pit stop early in the race and eventually finished in P16, one lap down from the leaders) and Nico Hülkenberg instead.  I was banking on Sutil’s Force India performing well on Monza’s long straights and to benefit from the Mercedes Benz engine’s power advantage, but going against my instincts (and my better judgment) blew up in my face.  Thankfully Hülkenberg finished in P7 to cushion the negative impact of my risky strategy for Monza.

The final five races should be very exciting!

Leave a Reply

